Spend money on roads and motorways than on public transport systems

It is argued that more funds should be allocated to roads and motorways rather than to public shipping systems. I am in complete disagreement with this opinion. On the one hand, I can understand why spending money on highway networks gains the support of many people. Their view is that better roadway quality would increase the levels of safety and ease traffic congestion. Firstly, the better quality of motorways means a considerable decline in route mortality and injury rates. This is justifiable since the roads in some countries are fraught with holes and obstacles, plaguing people with danger and insecurity. In this sense, the amelioration of poor street infrastructures would ensure the safety of customers. Secondly, expanding the wharf and building more motorways are believed to curb service jams. movement congestion is a major concern in big cities where massive numbers of vehicles ride on the pathway during hours of peak demand. This vexed problem could be tackled as wider roads provide maximum movement time in free-flowing travel. However, I would argue that spending on public transport is a better investment for a few reasons. Compared to vehicles, high-capacity public travel modes can accommodate a larger number of passengers at a time. This could be exemplified by integrated and expansive public transit networks in Australia. Recent estimates indicate that each train on Sydney’s railways removes approximately 1000 cars from its wharf. Therefore, a modal shift from private to public transportation would tremendously alleviate urban congestion which has been considered as one of the productivity bottlenecks in developed economies. Moreover, efficient public transport systems are a contributor to a cleaner environment. By removing cars from streets, public transit plays a pivotal role in the abatement of carbon emissions. Not only does this reduce air pollution, but it also mitigates the effects of climate change as a whole. Based on the above-mentioned arguments, I acquiesce in the view that money should be invested in public transport systems rather than roadway networks.