Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

It has been argued that waste management at home is not effective as it is not properly recycled. Some people believe that this situation can only be improved if governments take appropriate measures to make it a legal requirement. In my opinion, for effective recycling and management of waste, it is crucial to bind this social issue with laws so that every citizen of a nation becomes aware of the importance and necessity. Over the past few years, the amount of debris disposed of by local residents has substantially been increasing owing to the popularity of fast foods. Most houses do not have enough land to dump and recycle waste which makes recycling less reliable to them. For instance, one of the metropolitan cities of India, Kochi, is thickly populated with houses being separated by a single wall which leaves them no space to establish any facility to reprocess garbage at their homes. Moreover, they tend to think that this process is a mere waste of their precious time. Therefore, recycling of waste is less likely seen in villages, towns and big cities. Nevertheless, the above-mentioned problems can be mitigated if proper laws and regulations are formulated in terms of recycling. Furthermore, if stringent rules with penalties and punishments are given for this common cause, people will become more responsible and explicable which eventually improves our living environments. For example, in Switzerland, those homes without recycling facilities are forcefully asked to pay more taxes. These kinds of strict actions will make people think twice before they decide not to. Hence, governing bodies can impose effective legal solutions to get rid of this ever-growing problem. In conclusion, it is an undeniable fact that recycling waste is not being done correctly in the majority of the living places. However, with the implementation of strict rules and laws, everyone becomes more answerable and this precarious situation can be entirely avoided.