5.Individuals can do nothing to change society. New developments can be only brought about by governments and large institutions. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that only governments and big organizations can have an impact on the public while individuals cannot change society. Personally, I completely disagree with the statement, and the reasons will be discussed in this essay. There is no doubt that large institutions and governments can change society positively, but that does not mean that individuals cannot. The new technology and innovative ideas raised by individuals are not negligible. To be specific, several cases which individuals made great contributions to society have been witnessed. For instance, the electric lamp invented by Edison has impacted people’s lives for hundreds of years. Another reason why I am against the given opinion is that individuals can influence public attitudes by expressing their views and comments. That is to say, people can show their viewpoints on social platforms easily. For example, when some people see the news of killing animals, they might make a video about animal protection and post it on social media. Once the video is sent on the internet, it will spread widely in a short time and soon make more people aware of the importance of protecting animals. Therefore, the actions have a positive impact on society. In conclusion, I completely disagree with the statement that individuals are unable to affect society in a positive way.