Some countries have introduced laws to limit the working hours that an employer can ask from an employee. Why are these laws introduced? Is this a positive or negative trend?

Every individual needs a job to survive and pay for the bills. Some governments have come up with regulations to restrict the time that a company can demand from its professionals. This essay will discuss the reasons behind this development and in my opinion, it is leaving a positive impact There are several factors that have pushed the administration of different countries to introduce these laws. To begin with, the number of people facing stress-related issues and burnout has increased significantly. Because of the competitive environment, the companies want their employees to work for many hours but it is leading to various mental health issues in the citizens. Moreover, this change has made the job market accessible to a higher number of individuals and reduced the unemployment rate. For example, if a company was employing 1 person for 60 hours before, they have now hired 2 job-seekers for 30 hours each. Hence, this development is leading to multiple positive outcomes. There are many reasons why this change is positive. Firstly, the working professionals are getting time to spend with their family which happens to be the most important aspect in anyone’s life. With the limited number of hours, they have their evenings free in which they can participate in leisure activities with their friends or children. Secondly, people are able to take better care of their health with the availability of hours. One does not have to miss a doctor’s appointment because of a work-related meeting or not go to the gym regularly because of the extended hours at the office. Therefore, this move of the governments to limit professional time is reaping many benefits. To conclude, this essay has discussed the motivation behind the introduction of such laws. It is indeed a positive development in itself and the citizens are benefitting from it.