Some people believe arts such as painting and music cannot directly improve the quality of people's lives so that government money should be spent on other things. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Overall, I agree with the statement that the government should have more budget for things like public services including hospitals, parks, transportation, and many more instead of arts in order to provide a quality life to its citizens. The first and foremost reason for my agreement is that people's lives are directly impacted by the services that the government is providing them. The onus to provide better facilities is on the shoulders of the government, so instead of spending money on arts or theatres, the government should be more focused on providing other amenities, for example, educational schools, hospitals, and many more. For instance, if the government assists children with better educational facilities, then these children in future would be able to secure better jobs like scientists, and doctors which ultimately improve their quality of life, and this also helps to strengthen a country's economy in the long run. In addition to that, we cannot deny that arts like music have an impact on the life of an individual but still, it is not directly linked to a person's life in any way, and these are merely a kind of recreational, fun, and relaxation activity. Whereas facilities like hospitals are responsible for treating various patients and saving their lives, so music and painting cannot be considered as important as hospitals. For instance, during COVID-19, the whole world was in need of good hospitals and doctors to treat infectious patients, and no one was bothered about anything related to the arts. In conclusion, I am convinced that people are directly impacted by the facilities provided by the government, so the government's first priority should be to assist its local residents with better amenities in terms of public services.