Some people think personal happiness is directly related to economic success, while others believe this depends on other factors too. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

People have different views about how happiness is achieved. While many are of the idea that happiness is a result of financial success, I agree with others who feel there are more crucial factors involved. Economic factors have great roles in achieving happiness. Firstly, Happiness correlates highly with earnings and affords individuals a higher standard of living. A person with a considerable salary is able to buy a nice house, provide for their family, and purchase luxuries ranging from good food and frequent holidays to expensive vehicles and fashionable clothing. Each item taken on its own contributes a small degree of pleasure, and if added up they lead to generally content, comfortable and enjoyable lifestyle. Secondly, an individual’s happiness can also be directly related to how happy others in the society are. If a person is financially stable, they are better able to aid the less privileged ones and nurture their needs. This way they feel better about themselves as a productive member of the society and feel pleased that others enjoy an acceptable standard of living. However, I agree with the majority who would argue that happiness is more a consequence of quality time with family and good health. To begin, A comfortable home filled with luxuries is enjoyable, but the most sustained happiness comes from close and strong bonds. Being in touch with family and strong interpersonal relationships with relatives can provide individuals with a sense of belonging and emotional support. This emotional support can reduce stress level and feeling of loneliness that many people in modern world suffer from. Additionally, good health is a more powerful pre-condition for happiness since no amount of wealth can buy relief from fatal diseases. Physical pain prevents people from enjoying the luxury and wealth they have collected through years. If one is bed ridden, they cannot travel or enjoy the company of others or have peace. In conclusion, it seems to me that happiness depends on financial state, but more importantly on one’s relationship with their family and physical health.