Some people believe that international sporting events are the ideal opportunity to show the world the qualities of the hosting nations. Others believe that these events are mainly a large unjustifiable expense. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is an ongoing debate over the importance of hosting global sporting events to display the qualities of the country. However, many individuals claim that arranging these events is a waste of money, I mostly agree with the argument. Admittedly, international sports races enable the country to open the gate to tourists. This means that these kinds of events provide a global chance to showcase a country's culture, history, and hospitality, which leads to not only economic growth but also benefits for the country within the global environment. As an example small countries, in Monaco, F1, which has over 100 million viewers all over the world, is held annually, and it contributes to the improvement in transportation, accommodation, and sports facilities. Additionally, hosting international sporting events might enhance a nation's identity, and global image. Hence, these benefits enable the country to participate in global meetings. Nevertheless, hosting global sports events are major unjustifiable expense. One of the obvious reasons is that such competitions strain the social facilities on their limits, which leads to a detrimental effect on the country regarding transportation. As long as the number of tourists increases continuously, this phenomenon will lead to the overuse of transportation. For instance, Azerbaijan organises sports events, and the primary streets are closed, which in turn damages social mobility. Furthermore, the country needs new amenities in order to hold such events, leading to a waste of investment. Hence, the funds could be used for essential public services including healthcare and education. In conclusion, although international events are a chance to showcase the national historical heritage and considerable benefits, I am of the opinion that it has a devastating effect on local facilities.