Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

The mitigation of crime rates is becoming a controversial issue, considering its sudden surge worldwide. Numerous people believe that long-term imprisonment is a wise way to tackle crime. Whereas, others Advocate that there are many more alternative ways to handle crime than longer prison sentences,. This essay will discuss both perspectives, before offering a conclusion. However, I am in solidarity with the latter view. A section of society thinks that long-term prison gives prisoners quality time to think about the wrongdoings that they have committed during their lives. This may provide a feeling of self-realization, and it can be seen that the time spent with herself often leads to positive outcomes. Moreover, this segregation from social life poses fear to those who commit crimes. Needless to say, if a person is fully aware of the punishment, especially a longer prison, then he thinks twice before performing any crime. For example, in Norway, the high authorities give long-term punishment to prisoners in jail and provide all the facilities to them. Hence, the crime rate in the same country is 4% which is remarkably low as compared to other countries. In contrast, certain individuals opine that there are countless better ways available, that might be more effective than a longer jail sentence. They state that need punishment should be based on the crime. In other words, assigning life imprisonment to serial killers might not be a prudent approach, as they can build their friendship with other offenders inside, and also it seems Injustice for the victims. In addition, death punishment is cost-saving to the government as they not only eliminates serious offenders from society but also maintains the discipline of prisons. According to me, the punishments should be decided after taking the cruelty into account. For minor crimes, short-term imprisonment might be effective, and for psychopaths and murderers, capital punishment is the better way to reduce crime. In conclusion, there is no denying this conviction that crime is rising at an alarming rate and reducing such crime is a daunting task for the government. However, other ways such as death sentences may generate fear among criminals and can reduce crime to great extent than longer prison sentences.