(QG) Many people who care for the elderly do not have enough time to look after them. What are the problems related to this? What are some possible solutions?

Many individuals are in a dilemma of balancing between spending time on themselves and the elderly. This phenomenon may result from the amount of working time and the effect of the elderly on young people. This can be resolved by having the public and government take part in improving facilities for the elderly. It should be acknowledged that the main problem leading to this situation is the amount of time that employers require for the work. Nowadays, people suffer from long working hours that they even have no or little time to spend with their family. However, the caring job, especially for the elderly, demands a large number of hours and also patience. Thus, people have less time for looking after the old age and lack of attention to them can lead to misunderstanding of their needs and lower both their physical and mental health. Another problem that should be considered is that most people will become aggressive and rude when they get to the age of sixties. Because of the absence of many memory fields and some linking neurons, the elderly have no intention in their actions and they sometimes annoy their supporters suddenly. According to research published by VNExpress in 2001, young people were likely to be upset with the bad behaviours of old people and around 50% of these actions were not what the older did want to express. Therefore, the work of looking after elders is more complicated for supporters and some must-not-have situations can be occurred by having rudeness in old people. However, these problems can be tackled by having community centers for the elderly. By meeting their peers or someone who has undergone a similar situation, they can share their hobbies and stories of their life with others. As a result, they feel less lonely and also their relatives who have responsibility for taking care of them have more spare time to take a rest. Many applications of this sort of community service are taken into account and saw a successful result in Vietnam. To sum up, balancing work and caring is tough because of the long working time and how aggressively old age. These can have practices to minimize the effect on the elderly and younger by raising funds for community centres for them.