In some countries, traditional art is in facing extinction. Some people think that governments should spend some public money on its preservation. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is thought by a selection of individuals that the governments in some countries should expend money on preserving their traditional art as they are going to the brink of extinction. From my perspective, I totally disagree with this notion and reasons will be outlined in the following paragraphs before reaching my conclusion. To begin with, there are plenty of problems and issues that are awaiting the states to tackle and mitigate. To explain in greater detail, air pollution, one of the primary matters, is attributed to many old and unperformed public vehicles which are still being used and emit an excessive amount of exhaust fumes, affecting people's respiratory systems directly. Furthermore, a number of factories still illegally litter chemical substances or wastewater into rivers and canals and hence communities around those areas need a lot of new water cleansing systems. An apt illustration of this is that in my city, Bangkok, the government needs to spend a lot of money on purchasing new and upcoming EV public buses to alleviate air pollution in society. In addition, communities in some areas are encountered with wastewater causing smelly and unpleasant scents, therefore the authority have to buy new water cleansing machines and set them along the riverside to ease this issue. Additionally, another clear reason to support my point of view is globalisation. To elaborate further, the new generations in this contemporary time tend to travel abroad to study or travel leading to the convergence of traditions. Moreover, it is the governments that allow many multinational companies to open their branches. To specifically demonstrate, many of my friends are now going to study in the UK, the USA and Australia and when they come back they also get and receive a new tradition or culture from those countries with them. Another thing is most of them apply to multinational companies which have good and nice connections with the government. All in all, spending public money on preserving traditional art, which is not essential and brings benefits to us these days, is worthless. In my opinion, it is a fact the government should spend public money on things that will provide a better quality of life to citizens such as pollution; besides, the world has been changing every day and thus it is better to grasp new traditions and adapt it to our lives.