Some people believe that the best way to deal with heavy traffic in city centers is for privately owned cars to be banned, others however, think this is an unrealistic solution. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Today, traffic jams are a severely disturbing phenomenon in some overpopulated urbanized cities. Some people argue that privately owned vehicles should be disallowed to enter city centres. Others, however, disagree and believe that it will not be a viable solution. In this context, it is a matter of debate. On the one hand, people in favour of prohibiting privately registered cars argue that traffic congestion was originally created by the immense numbers of citizens' vehicles. In addition, some people in fact own multiple cars or even more. For instance, a single household may obtain more than one car for each family member and drive separately to a gathering in the city centre. In his book, Urban Catastrophe, Dr Victor Sam discusses this issue by saying, “Over 90% of London population own multiple cars and then people wonder, why such a problem exists?” Consequently, it has been advocated for a while to simply disallow ordinary people ’s cars from approaching the mid-town. On the other hand, the argument seems to be absurd and lacks comprehension of the true nature of the issue. Firstly, people should not be responsible for the faulty planning and structuring done by loose authority in the first place. In other words, restricting citizens from their basic rights because of shabby traffic designs is, absolutely, reprehensible. The government should work on logical and viable solutions such as the newly designed highway bridges in Egypt, for example, instead of turning their backs and blaming people ’s properties. To conclude, it is understandable to look thoroughly into the ever-rising traffic congestion hurdle. Whether banning the vehicles of the community to abreast city centres would be realistic or not, is still arguable amongst decision-makers. Personally, I tend to appreciate people ’s right to own and move freely without any restrictions.