At the present time, the population of some countries includes a relatively large number of young, compared with the number of older people. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Currently, several nations have bonus demographics while the youth generation dominates the resident's composition rather than the elderly generation. I believe this condition would bring more advantages for the nation, especially for the economic aspect but it has a risk in the future at the same time. First of all, the dominance of the youth generation would increase the economic growth since they will boost the consumption. There will be a large of labourers who work to earn money and spend it to fulfil their needs in many sectors, such as food, real estate, entertainment and tourism which would have a multiplier effect on macroeconomics. Also, the growth would bring benefits for the entrepreneur to expand their business. Also, the increase in consumption would bring benefits for the government through tax revenue through value-added tax or income tax. Then, government could increase its spending on development such as infrastructure development or non-physical development such as education or social health. However, the bonus demographic could bring risks to the future for the countries, such as a potential expense for retirement and pension while the labour is no longer productive. The government should have an action plan when they become older by maximizing the momentum of economic growth in the prior period. To summarize, a significant portion of the young generation would bring more advantages for the countries due to the effect on economic growth and business expansion. However, the government should be aware when they become elderly generation in the future there would be the risk of retirement and pension.