Some people feel that boarding schools (where students or pupils live at the school during the term) are an excellent option for children, while other people disagree for a number of reasons. Consider both sides of this debate and reach a conclusion.

Choosing the right school for children has always been parents' concern. It is often believed that youngsters might benefit from attending boarding schools. The issue, however, is not entirely straightforward, and arguments can also be made against the idea. This essay will discuss the debate, and give a concluding view. On the one hand, opponents of this view cite that studying in this kind of school may result in spending less time with families. This, consequently, could bring about distance between family members causing weaker relationship bonds. A good case in point is my colleague's son who has attended a boarding school for almost two years, his father is always complaining about not spending enough time with his son, and he has lost the chance to establish an appropriate father-son relationship. By contrast, those who support boarding schools point out the various benefits that these places can bring to children. These range from socializing with their peers to studying better and having daily routines which could contribute to a healthier life. An example to illustrate this is my colleague's son who used to be shy but after attending boarding schools, he has managed to fit in between his classmates and get higher grades. Moreover, due to school rules, they have to eat, study, exercise, and sleep at specific times which has made them attain a healthy lifestyle. Overall, it is logical to conclude that attending such schools is prolific for youngsters in terms of socialization, education and fostering healthy habits if parents are ready to deal with their loved ones' absence during a semester.