Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Many people argue that governments should allocate more money for railways rather than roads. Personally, I completely disagree with this view. For a variety of reasons, it would be wrong to reduce resources for investment in roads. Firstly, roads play a fundamental role in transportation, which assists in moving people and goods from one place to another, particularly in short distances. Secondly, due to increasing population in big cities, developing roads will reduce traffic congestion significantly, especially in peak time. For example, citizens in major metropolises usually have difficulty in moving because the population is growing day by day, but the progress of road extension is too slow, and this leads to traffic congestion. Finally, if the authorities only concentrate on improving railways, we might have a situation in which roads are always more overloaded than railways. In my opinion, we should spend money on both railways and roads. It is beneficial for all members of society to have many options with a view to moving or delivering goods. This will restrict overload in roads, and contribute to enhance transportation industry. For instance, a nation with a good transportation system will ensure orders are delivered on time and therefore plenty of transport companies will be established, this result in a lot of jobs as well as contributing to the development of the nation. To sum up, I believe that transportation plays a key role in national development. Thus, governments should spend money on both railways and roads.