In many countries, paying for things using mobile phone (cellphone) apps is becoming increasingly common. Does this development have more advantages or disadvantages?

It is true that a number of nations follow digitalisation policies, therefore, paying for things by using mobile phones through apps is trending. However, this development has some merits and demerits. I believe that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.The essay will discuss both and argue in favour of it. Nowadays, online transactions through a smartphone by using the app are preferable. This is because of the easy, convenient and comfortable means of paying method. Firstly, it saves time and effort. You need not go personally rather you can pay your amount just one click from your home or workplace. Secondly carrying cash is also not required if you have a smartphone with supporting applications, which makes your life most relaxed. For example, Google Pay and Paytm are famous apps which can be utilized for online payment through mobile phones. In India, paying all types of bills, and daily expenses to local vendors are being done through these apps and it is highly recognised by everyone. On the other hand, there are some cons also related to safety, security and reliability while using mobile phone apps for online shopping or bill payments. This is because weak security measures are being followed by various app companies. There are some chances that while paying bills through these apps, your personal data may be hacked and your savings account may be at risk. For instance, past few months, so many complaints registered to cyber security teams in various states of India for online fraud while payment through mobile apps. In conclusion, paying for things through a mobile phone with different apps is mostly followed by Individuals in many countries due to effortless jobs, nevertheless, it can have a negative impact if the account is exposed to hackers through apps and as a result, you may have considerable losses.