Some people think crimes are the result of circumstances like poverty and other social problems. Others believe that they are caused by people who are bad in nature. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is believed by some that the cause of criminal activities among the public is a lack of basic needs and the issues surrounding them, while others consider these activities a reflection of their genes. Although breaking laws is circumstantial, in my opinion, it is hereditary as well. Let us discuss these two viewpoints in the upcoming paragraphs. On the one hand, poor communities will break the rules to meet their daily needs. Moreover, it is the discrimination in society that leads the weaker individuals to follow the abominable actions. Additionally, economic inequality and racism based on caste or colour prevent individuals from enjoying their basic rights, which encourages them to break societal boundaries and leads to their recognition as criminals. On the other hand, genetics plays a pivotal role in the mannerisms of an individual. Likewise, the physical and behavioural traits of every person are transferred from his or her ancestors; those who possess negative behavioural patterns will carry those chromosomes to their inheritors and spread the undesirable traits. For instance,research on Indian offenders reveals that 43% grew up in a criminal environment. Hence, a person's birth history plays a significant role in moulding their undesirable mannerisms. In conclusion, the crime rate is at its peak in the modern era, and many factors are responsible. As mentioned above, social problems and bad behaviours are equally responsible for these illegal acts.