Whoever controls the media also controls opinions and attitudes of the people and there is little that can be done to rectify this. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today’s modern society, social media has become a double-edged sword as it brings both upsides and downsides. Many people assume that internet users are being controlled in terms of perspectives and it is challenging for everyone to resolve this issue. From my viewpoint, I partly agree with this idea. On the one side, this assumption is true because social media monitors take advantage of crowd psychology to manipulate the residents. For example, about 2 years ago, the new girlfriend of the most famous Vietnamese singer at that time was criticized as the other woman between that singer and his previous partner by netizens despite her refutation. Due to this incident, her career went down significantly afterwards. What is more, many hot current affairs have also been hidden because of unknown reasons. To be more specific, there has been no trace of the wars between Israel and Palestine on Facebook so many people were clueless about the current news including the damage to humans and property. Thus, it can be seen that the cyber community is being led by the nose. On the other hand, the society is becoming more and more developed. In other words, public awareness about cyberworld has been raised remarkably so they can evaluate online events. For instance, a recent case recently about a pupil being in isolation in his class posted by his mom has concerned a lot of people. After a short period of time, netizens found out that what the mom told them was totally untrue. Due to her selfishness, she made up a story to protect herself. Additionally, residents now defend their rights in many ways. Another example is about recent event when there was proof proving that one famous family in Viet Nam joined the rebel force. Instead of protecting their idols, netizens protested this family by posting inspirational videos to spread the word about patriotism. Therefore, there are many solutions to this raised matter. In conclusion, while many threads are being posed when using the internet, web surfers appear to overcome this issue. Thus, it is essential to raise the users’ awareness about cyber risks in modern life.