space exploration is much too expensive and the money should be spent on more important things. to what extent do you agree or disagree?

with the recent advancements in technology, the idea of finding a new planet compatible with human life has become more and more popular. As a result, a great deal of money has been invested in space exploration lately. it is argued by some that considering the expenses, these investigations have no economic justification, and the money should be spent on some more important subjects. I'm afraid I have to disagree with this point of view, and in the following essay, I will support my opinion with rationale and examples. historically looking, the path that needs to be taken to reach scientific discoveries usually starts with public disapproval. for instance, despite being a scientific fact these days, about several hundred years ago, the idea of the earth being spherical was so unacceptable that the scientist who came up with this idea was threatened with death. similarly, these days every new scientific attempt may seem unreasonable initially as society would label it as unnecessary or a waste of money. space exploration is not an exception; unless scientists endure these disagreements, our future generations will be deprived of a better life. moreover, with the recent surge in the earth's population and the excessive consumption of its resources, the likelihood of humankind becoming dependent on new sources of energy and raw materials is increasing. Although still an uncertainty, someday humans may find their essential substances somewhere else in the solar system, preventing the earth's innate resources from exhaustion. turning to the other side of the argument, some people hold the view that governments should prioritize solving some of the pre-existing issues rather than investing in the production of spaceships or telescopes. it is their view that in a world where millions of innocent kids die of curable diseases due to lack of medication, it is irresponsible if these costly investigations take precedence over the expansion of drug companies. to conclude, human attention has been recently turned to the outer world where mankind may find a new planet to live on or an alternative source of energy. in my idea, although being exorbitant, the progression of existing knowledge regarding the world is as important as advancements in other fields of science.