In many countries, the government prioritises economic growth above all other concerns. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this.

In many nations, governments give precedence to economic growth over other issues. The advantages of this are that number of employed residents will increase and residents’ standards of living will be improved. However, this can cause serious environmental problems and health problems. One major benefit of prioritising economic development is that number of employed citizens will significantly increase. In other words, countries, where their economies are growing, require substantial workforces to produce sufficient supplies of goods in order to meet markets’ demand. As a result, more and more citizens are in employment. Moreover, this will also offer citizens a better quality of life. This is because, when economies are growing, governments will gain more taxes from trading and can spend them on people’s welfare. For example, Singapore has improved its economy over the last 40 years. As a result, Singaporeans have excellent public transport and a well-organised health care system. On the other hand, focusing only on economic development results in serious environmental damage. This is because, manufacturing processes generate CO2 and other fumes, sewage, and industrial waste which are released to environments and cause air, water and soil pollution. Furthermore, industrial pollution will negatively affect people’s health by precipitating respiratory diseases as well as some types of cancer. For example, Beijing, a big city in China, is facing smog which comes from manufacturing and incomplete combustion of logistic vehicles. This leads to an increase in the number of asthma-exacerbated patients. To conclude, while prioritising economic development will result in an increase in employment and a better quality of life, the serious downsides that come with this are environmental pollution and residents’ health issues.