People should choose their course of study not on the basis of their own interests, but based on the kinds of jobs they can get. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is debatable whether the masses should study according to their interests or according to the opportunities that they can get to achieve success. To some extent, I agree with this statement due to several reasons, which include a lack of chances in some fields, competition, and so on. To begin, the first and foremost reason for agreeing with the statement is that individuals should focus on available positions for their study due to a few reasons. The first is competition; To explain it, in today fast fast-paced, and expensive life everyone wants to earn better without hard work; while some fields require a lot of hard work and memory such as doctors, and teaching, some fields are easier, like cashier, receptionist, data entry, which need lowest study. So, a lot of people show their interest in these areas, which leads to competition, and the chances of getting employment are low. For example, the survey conducted by Patiala University has reported that the people born in the 19th century had low skills as they just focused on family work, especially in the fields, and today they have nothing to do because of limited knowledge and ability. Moving further towards those who oppose this view and believe that folks need to investigate work possibilities and then conclude in which stream they should study, for the reason wastes time and energy. To elaborate, sometimes a person spends a lot of years completing graduation in a specific area; however, when he or she tries to find a job, then realizes that this profession is not worth it due to low Vacant positions, which is not only a waste of time but also money. For instance, the boy in my neighbourhood completed his graduation in the commerce field, but now he does not have work, since in India there is no demand for this area; however, in some big cities there are a few openings, but these places are too far for him. As a result, now he is just working in the fields and earning very little. To conclude, although I do not fully support rushing towards multiple options and abandoning one’s passion for a particular field, it is wise to conduct some research before making any educational decisions, as the saying goes, “precaution is better than cure.”