Some people believe that giving longer prison sentences is the best way to reduce crime. Others believe that there are better ways to reduce crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion. You should write at least 254 words.

There is an ongoing debate over whether increasing prison penalties will reduce the crime rate or not. Some people claim that increasing penalties will frighten potential prisoners, while others firmly believe that there are better ways to reduce crime rates. This essay will elucidate both sides of this argument and provide a personal opinion. What is the main task of a prison, this is the question that many people may answer wrong. I believe that separating dangerous individuals from society is not the reason why prisons were invented. Its main purpose is to rehabilitate individuals and make them a part of the community again. Therefore, by implementing this program we will lose potential community members just because they made a mistake. For instance, only 30% of prisoners return to prison because they committed a felony again, the other 70% never go back to prison and become a part of society. Additionally, I want to present another way to reduce fraud rates: the government should warn the young generation about the dangers of the criminal's life. They should teach them ethics and morals. Nevertheless, increasing penalties will surely scare criminals. The possibility of spending the rest of your life in prison can be very frightening for some individuals. Therefore, by promoting this program we could banish criminals from our society and reduce overall crime rates. For example, in countries like China or North Korea, it is not uncommon that even for small felonies one can get a long prison sentence. As a result of that, crime rates in these countries are extremely low. To sum up, this essay examined both sides of this argument and offered a personal opinion. In addition, after analyzing both sides of this debate I came to the conclusion that increasing prison sentences is not an ethical solution for this problem.