Some people think that the increasing use of computers and mobile phones in communication has negative effects on young people's reading and writing skills. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is thought by some people that a massive usage of gadgets as a communication tool can have an adverse effect on individuals` reading and writing skills. I firmly disagree due to some justifications that I will discuss in this essay. To begin with, the most frequently cited rationale for opposing this statement is that people can read and write in both online and paper-based formats. Firstly, with the increasing trend of digital devices, online communication has become an essential part of our daily routine. For instance, people can apply for a job and submit a high-quality resume via email, thus alleviating the process for employers. Similarly, before the invention of computers and mobile phones, the usage of letters for interaction had the same effect. Therefore, the utilization of online tools for conversation is not evidence of a decrease in grammar knowledge and reading skills. Another reason for this phenomenon is a lack of reading and writing skills that can be associated with little experience. Although gadgets cannot affect individuals` competencies, social media and networks can distract them from education. As children get mobile phones at an early age, they start using them daily, which has detrimental effects on their education and academic performance. As a result, the massive usage of electronic devices launches children on a path of non-learners due to excessive phone usage. To conclude, some people believe that the reason for a decrease in reading and writing skills is the utilization of online communication. Although the excessive usage of phones and computers might lead to harmful consequences in education, I believe that texting helps to ease our lives.