Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

In last decades, the number of people who have relied on various methods such as alternative medicine instead of being visited by doctors has mushroomed. In my opinion, this trend poses challenges, due the lack of validition and causes adverse reactions. Essentially, scientific evidence has been the cornerstone of physical examination, diagnostic, and prescribed drugs by doctors throughout the history of medicine. While, alternative methods were derived from traditions and relegious ideas, which treat patients mostly with herbs. Firstly, the lack of evidence and experimental studies are the vital merits of the latter methods. To elaborate more, take the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) as an example, a regulatory institute for testing novel drugs and treatments. When a researcher invents a novel remedy, it will be investigated by this institute, and as a result of FDA approval, they might prescribe their cutting-edge products. Although, prescribed drugs by alternative medical experts have been not monitored and approved by regulatory foundations, scientific studies, and universities monitor and approved. Secondly, when people consume these remedies, it will poses the risk of developing massive side effects reactions. Therefore, these reactions are sometimes novel and unknown because of a lack of experimental studies data. Due to a lack of visiting doctors and physical examination by doctors, these remedies pose hypersensitivity and hyperpigmentation. For example, in Iran, the donkey's stool has been used widely by people who have not relied on usual doctors, it has chosen due the relegious and traditional backgrounds. To conclude, besides the merits of using alternative methods instead of visiting doctors, the lack of an evidence-based approach and adverse side effect are two vital challenges that medical communities have faced.