Poor nutrition and obesity is a problem in many developed countries and some people believe that a tax on fast food would reduce the problem. Do you agree?

At this day and age, irrationally eating and weight gain have become an issue in many rich countries, so it is believed that a tax on fast food would help diminuating the problem. While I agree with this statement, I believe that payments are only the first steps of this process, because the problem dives deeper in the level of understanding of what one eats and why. As well as that, rising prices is more of a short-period problem. Firstly, humanity has the capacity of adapting to almost everything the government imposes. So, if the taxes were to increase, it could only be a short term solution or the first step of a more elaborate plan. For example, if “Mac Donald’s” happens to be more expensive and people don’t afford it, somebody else will open a new restaurant with similar food, but slightly less calories. As well as that, in comparison the food may seem healthier, but wouldn’t be healthy enough to reduce obesity. So, people get creative and find solutions in time, as this restriction won’t survive long enough to make a substantial change. Secondly, while taxes will draw attention to the public eye, it doesn’t automatically mean that people would understand the purpose behind this change. Moreover, the public might take it as a way the government found to extract even more money from businesses. Instead of risking getting people against the change, they can be helped in getting to the decision of not eating irrationally anymore on their own. For instance, it can be implemented a new mandatory subject at school, where everything about food is explained: what is it made of, in which amounts should carbohydrates, proteins and fibers be consumed and most importantly: why. People need to understand an issue in order to listen and take into consideration the sollution, and by starting with the new generation, parents of those kids will have no other choice but to eat healthy too. In conclusion, while I agree with the initial idea, I believe it should be developed more elaborately in order to assure an impact, as the solution should be as big as the problem is.