Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Children spend extended periods of time on their mobile phones and this is because of the influence of social media. This can have a negative impact on them by hooking them with their phones and prevent them from having a healthy lifestyle. Social media apps are made to engage with the viewers. Children feel the fear of missing out when they are not up-to-date with the posts of their friends and favourite influencer. This peer pressure makes them addicted to their devices, not letting them to do other activities. For instance, an online survey mentioned that a majority of the mobile owners spend 80% of their screen time on social media. Spending hours daily on mobile devices can be detrimental to the physical and mental health of the children. Time spent on phone is the time lost to go outside and do physical activities. Many children in recent times are obese and have poor sedentary lifestyle. When parents are asked the reason for this crisis, most told that their children are glued to their phones scrolling social media or playing games. In conclusion, the captivating nature of social media application is the reason why many children spend several hours on smartphones, and this can lead to them being indoors and not participating in physical activities, thus leading to health problems. Therefore, it is best to limit the time spent on such devices and participate in sports or other physically demanding tasks to stay healthy.