In many countries, the number of animals and plants is declining. Why do you thinking that is happening? How can this issue be solved?

In today's world, many countries have been experiencing a constant decline in the number and variety of plants and animals. This problem is attributable to the excessive harvesting of high-value plants for financial needs and the illegal poaching of wild animals to meet the aesthetic demands of society. Yet, it can addressed by the implementation of new, stricter laws by the government. It should be noted that many types of plants offer various benefits to humans, ranging from being a natural medicine to boosting the appearance of an object or a person. For this reason, plants, especially those with practical applications, are usually traded at a high price, bringing much money for the seller. As a result, many people try to collect them in large quantities to boost their financial situation. Consequently, a significant decrease in the number of plants is evident. Another noticeable cause of this problem is the illegal hunting of animals for aesthetic purposes. This kind of creatures may have body parts, such as the ivory of elephants, the fur or skin of many other animals, that can be very useful for making luxurious products. These items can then be worn on the body to display wealth and enhance the overall appearance of the users. Therefore, hunters kill animals to meet the social demand for these aesthetics. The solution to this phenomenon lies in the government's action of creating new regulations regarding the use of plants and animals. The news can tackle the problems by increasing the severity of the punishment, or by setting quotas to maintain a stable population for plants and animals. For instance, those who disobey the law can face prison time alongside the usual hefty fine and the permanent ban on their licenses. This approach has proven to work in Finland, where the figures for plants and animals saw a recovery since new regulations were implemented. Taking all points into account, the reduction in the number of animals and plants stems from overharvesting and excessing killing for various needs. Nevertheless, it can be solved through the use of new laws made and enforced by the government.