Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Nowadays, the extensive usage of mobiles among young generations is inevitably widespread. Due to easing the human's lives more and more children tend to spend hours on their cellphones. Despite, its helpful usage, it might cause massive health risks and disrupt children ’s careers. In my opinion, it is generally a negative development which is elaborated more in this essay. First and foremost, this phenomenon arises because of convenience of using smartphones in different aspects of life. To exemplify, recently, children have been easily communicating with their friends around the globe just by tapping the call button on their cellphones, while a few decades ago it was not possible. Furthermore, the variety of topics, which are asked by students are responded to in just a minute by websites such as Google. In addition, the teenagers’ curious inclination might be satisfied by full data, which are searched by them on the websites. Despite, the advantages of smartphone usage, they might cause massive health issues such as eye problems. The high screen time is might responsible for this kind of concern, which increases the risk of getting eye disease in followed decades. In addition, other diseases such as diabetes and obesity, which completely depend on activity time, come up with addictive behaviour of children to cell phones. Moreover, these children mostly communicate by their cell phones online, which leads to a lack of conversation skills in real-life situations. Also, in some cases, it might be responsible for mental issues such as depression and anxiety. That means, the absence of connection skills has led them to loneliness, which is the cause of two mental issues that are mentioned. To conclude, the number of smartphones utilised by children has rapidly increased in recent years. This rapid trend is followed by children ’s health concerns hand-in-hand with mental challenges. Although smartphones come up with various benefits, a monitoring approach to check children spending hours on cell phones is vitally important.