Some feel that movies and tv shows are a good way to study history despite their lack of historical accuracy at times. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many are of the opinion that TV programs and films are effective tools for conveying historical information to young generations compared to other educational means. Though films often contain provocative elements that attract children’s interest, I am largely in disagreement with this view, considering that individuals are likely to misunderstand historical information through over-dramatized content, which can lead to the adoption of distorted facts. Advocates often highlight the entertaining aspects present in audio-visual presentations of historical movies. Children, in particular, often find it boring to learn history using textbooks. There are endlessly long timelines from ancient periods, with the names of battles and historical figures, and the occurrence dates. However, films contain catchy narratives, unique characters wearing traditional garments, and visualized historical settings, which easily capture youngsters’ attention. An exemplary example of this would be the famous American historical film, Hacksaw Ridge, based on the inspiring true story of Desmond Doss. The grand sound and 3D graphics portrayed how he won the bloodiest battle of World War II and saved 75 soldiers from the war. Youngsters who watch the film naturally grasp these facts and cultivate an appreciation for their ancestors. Though the advantages are quite obvious, historical films often contain inaccurate information. History must be delivered accurately as it is an invaluable story that has been accumulated over an extended time from ancestors. However, many producers distort stories to attract more interest and aim for box office hits rather than genuinely intending to impart precise historical facts. While the Korean movie, “Admiral: Roaring Currents” received great public recognition around the world, many historians criticized it for its distortions. They argue that the film exaggerated the role of Admiral Lee Sun Shin, while not emphasizing the complicated relationship between Japan and Korea. Even some strategies employed by Lee Sun Shin were inaccurately depicted as producers focused on adding tension for genuine thrill. As young generations are more likely to absorb misconceptions, learning history should be achieved through fact-based methods such as history books, lectures, or documentaries. In conclusion, while it is undeniably true that media often plays a key role in inspiring people's interest in learning history through more entertaining options, it often encompasses erroneous details, leading young students to develop a distorted historical perspective. I firmly believe that history education should be delivered through other methods based on factual information without any dramatization.