The influence of human beings on the world’s ecosystem is leading to the extinction of species and loss of biodiversity. What are the primary causes of the loss of biodiversity? What solutions can you suggest?

Over the past decade, biodiversity has been put in jeopardy as many species have extincted due to people illegally poaching and the process of urbanization. However, governments all across the globe can construct more conservation areas along with designating ecological areas that will be protected by laws. When it comes to why the number of animals have decreased dramatically in the contemporary world, human’s impulsive hunting is doubtlessly one of the key reasons. To be more specific, animals, especially the rare species, have a huge monetary value as they are the most yearned for items at black markets where illegal selling and purchasing occur. This is synonymous with the fact that many people who struggle with their finance usually perceive this unlawful activities as a chance for them to earn money so they are willing to hunt animals for their valuable skin and horns. Therefore, the declining number of fauna and even the extinction of some endangered ones are inevitable. Another principal cause of loss of biodiversity is the urban sprawl which gives rise to the habitat destruction. To explain further, big cities have offered people more opportunities regarding job prospects and other aspects such as education and healthcare, all of which facilitate mass immigration to urban areas. In other words, more housing amenities are required for the huge population and more factories are erected in order to satisfy the supply and demand. Thus, since there are no vacant space left for all those constructions, cutting down trees, which also means destroy the natural habitat of thousands of species, becomes the only option and this clarifies why animals have nowhere to survive before gradually dying at the environment inapproriate for them. Nevertheless, establishing more sanctuaries can help human to mitigate the alarming problems in the biodiversity. In particular, with the protection of human coupled with the natural environment in nature reserves such as national park, animals not only can grow up normally or even heathily but they also can avoid the impulsive poaching and those numerous animal traps set up in forests. As a result, this will provide further impetus for breeding and reproduction of animals and prevent their population from dropping so significantly. Regarding the urbanization, authorities should render the ecological zones like forests or hills intact when expanding the cities. That is to say, animals need their natural habitat to live and when human expand the cities, the environment of animals is obsoleted. Accordingly, if the wildlife is protected by the robust laws concerning the environment, any enterprises clear trees for the construction sites should be heavily fined or even incarcerated and for they are afraid of being put into jail, they will find other places but the green space to erect the buildings. In conclusion, loss of biodiversity is a pervasive issue in the world on account of excessively hunting and the urbanization stemmed from human’s demand. However, as long as more guarded zones for animals are built and more policies controlling urban planning, the biodiversity can be maintained and those animals can survive in this cruel world.