Some people believe that the problem of illegal drugs can be solved by just legalizing all drugs. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this?

It is often believed that the illegal drug issue that exists in society can be solved by making them legalised. In this, the government can play a prime role in managing drug-related problems. In my point of view, I completely disagree that it is the wrong way of controlling the availability of medicine in the market and will elaborate on it in the upcoming paragraphs. To begin with, the first drawback of making medicine legal is that it may raise the major issue of medicine addiction among the youth. For example, the youth nowadays in a few countries are badly dependent on drugs which are dangerous for their health. Even, they tried to import it through border areas at any cost. Therefore, the authorities can keep control over them by making them illegal. Secondly, the overdose of any medicine without a doctor's prescription can harm the human body. There are few countries in which a person cannot have an antibiotic without a doctor's prescription. The reason behind this, normal people don't know the limit of taking particular drugs and an excessive dose taken by a person may lead to death. Consequently, it is mandatory by the government in many nations that no pharmaceutical can be given to the public without doctor concern. Furthermore, it is obvious that considering it one way is not feasible to stop the narcotic issues. The government should limit the quantity of an antibiotic available in the market or impose various rules regarding antibiotics like age and prescription. Moreover, if drugs like marijuana become legalised then it becomes tough for any authority to control the crime in the market. Hence, legalising all medicines can harm society. To conclude, the complete legalisation of medicines can lead to various issues in the nation such as crime, drug addiction, and excessive use leading to death and making the nation handicapped.