Encouraging people to use public transport is the best way to solve traffic problems in cities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Traffic congestion has become a major social problem not only in developed cities but also in third world countries, especially in urban areas. It has become a major issue for many nations. Though some people's opinions differ, but I think that encouraging people to use public transport is an effective solution. First of, the use of public transportation will help reduce the number of cars on the roads in cities thereby reduce traffic congestion and pollution. Moreover, lesser cars on the road mean less aggressive behaviour avoided with road rage. For instance, better access to the transport system will encourage individuals to travel by public transport rather than taking their cars, thus saving time and money to travel to their destination. Saving time being, time needed to travel from one place to another without having to get stuck in traffic and money being, fuel and parking costs, etc. A good infrastructure system will mean that public will foster the culture of taking public transport such as buses, trains, trains and boats, etc. For instance, in the UK, cars are not allowed in some parts during peak hours to reduce congestion, therfore, people are encouraged to use public transport thereby reducing the number of cars on the road. To conclude, use of public transport system is an effective solution to traffic congestion as it reduces the number of cars on the roads in cities.