People nowadays sleep less than they used to in the past. What do you think is the reason behind this? What are the effects on individuals and people around them?

In recent years, people tend to sleep less compared to the past. This essay will discuss some reasons why this has occurred and examine the consequences of this worrying trend. The main reason of this problem is an active lifestyle where people have various hobbies and work. It means that, people can have two or even more official works as well as they can go to different hobbies within one day. As a result, there is less time to sleep because of a hectic lifestyle. For instance, people who work for Microsoft sleep only 6 hours, spending the other 18 hours for more than 3 hobbies and their main work during the day. Furthermore, with the expansion of technological advancement individuals tend to have excessive screen time. It means that, many people can scroll the internet without realizing time passage which leads to usage of their electronic devices for a long time. As an example, according to University of Warwick research, teenagers are often found playing computer games all night. The effect of this has been and will continue to be very serious. It is a fact that, since people have a multitude of duties on their plate, it can have an impact on mental health such as stress, depression, anxiety or aggressive behaviour in society due to sleeping less. Moreover, there can be physical health issues such as visual impairment or hormone imbalance. Scientist Megan Sheren proved that, deficiency of sleeping has a cumulative effect. The more individuals limit themselves in sleeping, the more mental and physical health problems they have. To sum up, people who have hectic lifestyles and overuse technological devices may sleep less and have effects on their mental and physical health. People should sleep as much as their organism requires, as it recovers while sleeping.