In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

In the current era, there is a tight-knit relationship between all people. Whether the presence of a growing population of the elderly in societies is a positive development is a matter of debate. As far as I am concerned, the presence of the elderly in countries can bring about numerous benefits. On the one hand, a panel of people believe that the overpopulation of the elderly results in some drawbacks for the government. That is to say, the government has to allocate a considerable budget for creating various facilities for such throngs. For example, the elderly centres, medical facilities, and specialists have to be supplied for these people. To clarify, this older generation needs caring, so the government has to dedicate young force such as nurses to these people without payment. Hence, a fresh and new generation has to be devoted to looking after the elderly rather than utilizing their novel ideas in order to address upcoming social issues. On the other hand, some contend that this old generation can potentially benefit society in different ways. To start with, a society can take the advantage of the elderly’s experience and wisdom. To simplify, this generation had encountered various situations, so they had gained wisdom about how to meet different requirements. Take the war between Iran and Iraq as an example. New generation does not have the foggiest idea of how to survive war, while exposure to war has informed our grandparents about such a situation. Therefore, they can be a perfect mentor when it comes to war. Furthermore, elderlies are more likely to have community engagement. This means, they are more delighted to do voluntary jobs due to their retirements and loads of free time. For instance, they are absolutely enthusiastic to help in lining up the books on library shelfs shelf. Or voluntarily give other old people with serious illnesses a free lift to the hospital. Consequently, if the government ask for their help, it will be benefited from numerous of voluntary job. The bottom line, although the older generation may require more budget and force in order to be looked after, the advantages of their presence in society clearly outweigh the downsides. Therefore, I am of the opinion that old population are highly essential in today’s nations.