In many countries, more and more people choose to buy imported food rather than food produced locally. Why people buy imported food? What could be done to encourage people to buy local food?

Nowadays, there is a trend rise in many nations that encourages individuals to buy foodstuff from foreign brands instead of local ones. However, this can be changed by the introduction of local products through announcement. It must be acknowledged that the reduction in local sales is caused by the lack of interest. In other words, the product sales rely heavily on customers’ interest, which has been occupied by the wave of newer, well-known imported food. Because of the fact that humans want to refresh with new flavours these new foods will become trendy because they can bring a unique tastes to satisfy native residents. Subsequently, as more and more citizens are interested in imported food, its sale on the market will increase because of its variety that creates a curiosity among customers who are willing to try new things. Meanwhile, its increase will equal the decrease in local food sales. Using advertisements is a solution that should be considered to increase local food sales because of its spreading ability. There is no doubt that advertisements can help boost the product image by introducing it, and also increasing the recognition of products in many ways. As a result, advertising will be the trigger that leads to the outburst in the selling of local foods as the image of the brands got improved by the variety of advertising means. In conclusion, imported foodstuff’ domination in the market is attributed to their popularity among people who want to experience new foods. However, it can be addressed by using advertisements to boost the sale of local cuisine due to the boost in recognition it can provide for the local brands.