In some countries, citizens must pay a lot of money in taxes, but education and healthcare are free. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages

In some parts of the world, residents are obligated to pay substantial taxes; despite that, the government covers the costs of education and healthcare services. Although it can be burdensome for the citizens, it would be beneficial for individuals because those services are essential for individuals. In this essay, I will discuss why the positive sides far outweigh the negative sides of this situation. The prominent advantages of this condition are education and health a primary factor in increasing the quality of life. If we require an acceptable amount of money so that the authorities can offer us free access to education and health for a lifetime, it is worth it to do. People can get equitable services and treatments and it can reduce the inequity in society. As a result, it can enhance the economy and the health rate of the residents. For example, the cost of treatment for chronic ailments like heart disease is very expensive in Indonesia. If these costs are not provided by the government and the individual can not afford it as well, then it can lead to death. However, in different cases, many individuals can be cured without the need to think about the cost. On the other hand, the coins have two sides. One primary adverse consequence of this tendency is the increase in the amount of money required to pay the tax and it would burden the taxpayers. Moreover, it also potentially leads to the risk of government inefficiency in raising the quality of education and health system due to lack of competition in the market. As a result, the education and healthcare system would grow slowly and not have many improvements year by year. For instance, in Indonesia, the authorities issue a free education system from elementary to high school. However, the quality of the public school is not as good as private schools that need to pay. The public school is a bit behind in part of curriculum and practical learning. Consequently, many public school students do not have the same opportunities as private school students such as exchange students with school abroad. The increased amount of tax to get a free education and healthcare system has virtues and drawbacks and in this essay, I discuss both of them and consider everything. In conclusion, I am inclined to say that, overall, the benefits of this phenomenon are better.