People were happier in previous generations compared to now. To what extent do you agree?

The older era is believed to be more relaxed than the recent era. To begin with, the older era environment is not as stable as it is now. Then, the choice of entertainment in that era is very limited. For those reasons, I strongly disagree with saying the older time is happier than the newer one. The environment in the early ages, especially before and after the World War in 1945, was very unstable. This is caused by the raging battle that destroyed most population infrastructures. Henceforth, societies were stressed as they were still in recovery, particularly with their economies. Additionally, nations that were greatly affected by the warfare are in crisis. Thereupon, the people in those nations suffer a heavy loss not only with their economy but also with their families as some of them are the victims of bloodshed. It must be remembered that in 1946, a year after the battle ended, countries on all continents suffered an event called the great depression. A point overlooked in that event is the economy as it collapses is deprivation within societies, putting them in a state of survival. With this in mind, it makes me wonder how stressful it is to live in such a generation. The limited variations of entertainment in that age make that even worse. However, the younger generations argue that entertainment at that age could make people happier. Although this may be true, some entertainment is only reached by upper-class societies because of their pricey tags. Therefore, the lower one had a limited type of entertainment and the media entertainment was not as fancy as today. To put it in perspective, nowadays people have access to a plethora of entertainment options with their gadgets, whereas, in the early days, those had not been founded yet. The most compelling evidence to prove this is from the historical data from 1945 that shows 8 of 10 people in that year suffered depression. Thus, most people in that year have plenty of huge problems to handle, making them not as happy as people in recent years. In conclusion, Most people in the early days do not enjoy their life due to the unstable condition of their environment, not to mention the limited source of leisure media to be chosen to overcome the stress from living in such conditions. Because of the corresponding problem, I strongly do not agree with the statement saying people in recent years are more stressed than in the early years.