In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very importatnt for people. Why misht this be the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative situation?

Home ownership is more valuable to people in some countries instead of renting it. This is due to the fact that it provides financial stability and hassle free life to them. I firmly believe, this is beneficial to an individual, despite the fact that there are some inconviniences to owning a house. Renting a house can be a financial burden sometimes. In numerous countries, the rent of a home can be very high. A significant portion of income usually goes to housing. However, if someone buy that very same house on mortgage, the monthly payment can be in simillar range of the rent, if not less. For instance, in Florida, the average mortgage of is 3% lower than rent for a decent middle class house. This way money can be allocated in ways to improve the living standard as well as build an asset. Buying a house can be a very important step for the well being of a family. A house is basically an asset that can be valued upto in millions. In an emergency or incase of purchasing another property, it can be sold in good price. For example, it is a common practice in America to buy an apartment at an early age, which is then sold to move into a big house when they form a family. Another way home ownership can be rewarding is in time of retirement. When a person retire, it is very difficult to keep providing rent. It can risk loosing a place to stay. In a study by Herverd University it says, 9% of retiere become homeless and live on the street. To conclude, ownership of a place to live is extremely important, as it provides financial security. I believe it is better than renting a house, as it builds up wealth as well as allows a peacefull mind.