You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Many believe that modern technology has brought people together, but others say that it has driven us apart. Discuss both viewpoints and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

It is thought by a selection of people that state-of-the-art technology has enabled individuals to group up together while others believe it only pushes them apart. In this essay, both viewpoints will be discussed before reaching my conclusion which is I agree with the former. At the outset, it is true that modern technology can bring citizens together and one of the most significant support is that it strengthens bonds and relationships. To elaborate further, technology such as smartphones can help us get together just by calling and keeping individuals in touch with their loved ones. Moreover, citizens who cannot join at that time can still join via video call from their PCs or mobile phones. An apt illustration is that my friend always makes group calls via Skype because there are some of us who are now studying abroad. Besides, when have free time and go out together, he will use Skype to call others to join the meals and have fun-filled conversations. On the flip side, there are several reasons why technology has driven us apart and the most crucial one is that it changes our ways of thinking. To explain in greater detail, some people will think that they do not have to attend any events and just wait to use spanking new programmes to join. Furthermore, they just look at videos later if those events or meetings are recorded which leads to being more solitary and introverted. To specifically demonstrate, my boss, who I am now working with, always decides to use Microsoft Team software to attend meetings because he feels lazy and unenthusiastic to join at the construction site. In addition, if he finds out that the meeting is not related to our responsibilities, he will decline to join the programme and watch recorded videos later. All in all, due to the advancement of technology, it depends on people's decision how they will utilise those modern devices or programmes. However, from my point of view, these things benefit us a lot because they enhance and improve our relationships with others.