In many countries, people now wear western-style dresses such as suits and jeans rather than traditional clothing. Why is this? Is this a positive or negative development?

In the modern era, it is common to witness citizens follow Western fashion styles worldwide instead of dressing in their traditional outfits. This writer believes that this phenomenon is caused by globalization and can potentially have negative effects due to the loss of national identity. To begin with, it is vital to understand that globalisation is a big factor in the Western-style trend. It can be seen that people nowadays have access to the Internet and it helps different communities around the globe to get in touch and share about their culture with each other; therefore, exposing people in developing countries to Western fashion. Because residents of developing countries often consider the trend in developed countries as contemporary and fashionable, they will try to change to using Western outfits. Take Vietnam as a contextual example, the population are currently dressing in Western clothes such as jeans and suits rather than wearing cultural clothes like Ao Dai or Ba Ba shirts. However, this development can be extremely harmful to the identities of nations. It must be considered that Western clothes are pretty convenient to wear because of their simple design, making them the most popular choice among many citizens from all over the world. Since they wear a similar kinds of clothes, it will create a single-culture world which means people worldwide look the same, there will be no distinction in terms of fashion. As a result, this can make traditional clothes lose their position in the society and eventually, fade away, leading to the cultural erosion. For instance, many Africans wear Western-style dresses and rarely wear their cultural outfits. In conclusion, it is globalization that caused the same clothing trend and the loss of identities makes it a disadvantageous development. Hence, this essay has given clear points to demonstrate the author's opinion about the reason and the type of development.