Some countries have legal ages at which people can drink. Other countries believe not having strict laws is a better policy. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

Alcoholic beverages are some of the most consumed drinks worldwide, but restrictions and laws related to these beverages vary from country to country. Some countries have certain ages when people can legally drink, while other governments insist that informality is more effective, meaning there should be less strict regulations related to drinking. I believe it is crucial to have legal limitations. The majority of countries have introduced a legal age for drinking at some point in their history. Such a law is normally implemented to create a legal limit that prevents children and teenagers from drinking alcohol. In many countries worldwide, this limit is either 18 or 21, but some countries like Germany set it at 16 years old. Other policies related to consuming and selling alcohol can vary, but the age limit appears to be a must in the majority of countries worldwide. The belief that drinking should not be regulated strictly exists because of flaws in human nature. When monitored rigorously or totally banned, substances like alcohol can become more popular among people, including the youth. In fact, the ban on alcohol historically resulted in an increase in sales in the black market, such as in the period of prohibition in the US between 1920 and 1933. This rationale makes certain people believe having more relaxed regulations for drinking can be a more sensible approach. In my view, there should be a legal age limit, and I would favour seeing at least 21 as the minimum. Alcoholic beverages intoxicate the mind and can cause health issues, factors that are undesirable at a young age. Ideally, I would ban the sale of alcohol totally, but I realize that such an approach is utopian. Still, having strict regulations and a high legal age are compulsory. In summary, although there is a sensible explanation for advocating a more lenient approach when dealing with alcohol, I support having a legal age limit and harsh regulations.