Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.  Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Many people have the opinion that students of tertiary institution should choose their field based on personal preference, whilst others argue that they should rather be encouraged to take up courses that would have more future benefits. In as much as it is easier and more fulfilling being in ones desired discipline, it is of greater good to consider the possibility of a job opportunity on the long run. To begin with, for the people that believe the need to choose a department in the university based on personal passion, they proposed the need for contentment in future endeavours. That is, after school and migrating to the work sphere in same field, being a fan of one’s profession which is not just exciting but also leaves a sense of self achievement. For instance, a Nigerian university student that takes up veterinary medicine because of her keen interest and compassion towards animals has the tendency to feel accomplished, notwithstanding the probable decreased work availability in that sector. However, most of these chosen fields have lesser job opportunities in different countries, hence no guaranteed employment or financial stability after going through the hassles of a higher education. A perfect example for this is studying international tourism or insurance in an African country where there is no proactive government planning for the thousands of graduates from this departments every year. Some of them are either forced into taking another degree or learn other skill works that does not require the degree acquired, which means that the product of their pain, sweats, night studies, tuition fees and general hurdles for the fours years or more spent within those walls has become insignificant. In conclusion, in an academic environment, people can choose aspects they love, but it is quite crucial to decide based on the area with more advanced advantage in the job market which is a necessary foundation for a stable income.