Maintaining public libraries is a waste of money since computer technology can replace their functions. Do you agree or disagree?

It is stated that, the technology advancement in recent years, might cause to alter some functionalities of traditional organizations like public libraries, and leading to lower the maintenance cost. I completely agree with this claim, and possible areas for the replacement of library functions will be discussed in this essay. At first, newly introduced technology in database systems can provide a convenient searching for any kind of books. Previous local library management used many strategies such as numbering systems and tokens to identify the place of certain book, but it was a time consuming and tedious task. However, Current database technology has the major use of SQL programming, which can use to sort out books efficiently. Therefore, any consumer can search for any preferable book or document, using relevant keywords in terms of the authors’ name, part of the book name, or the content type. Secondly, the security of the documents can increase using the computer platform. In earlier age, people used the public library system to preserve valuable documents, as those were understanded to be an important resource of knowledge. However, these resources need to protect from fire, humidity, insect attacks and abuse of documents, which required so many safety mitigations. Since the computers are using a cloud storage system, these resources do not prone to any physical damage. Notably, the cost for cloud database is less than security expenses for high amount of physical books and documents. In conclusion, I totally agree with the statement, that converting functions of current public library system such as finding certain book and protecting books, into the computer platform is possible. As a result, the expenditure for maintenance of the library would be reduced.