People these days watch TV, films and other programmes alone rather than with other people. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages.

In contemporary times, numerous people prefer to watch TV, films, and other programmes alone rather than with their friends or families. This essay attempts to shed light on the merits and demerits of this tendency before concluding that the latter is more significant. On the one hand, it is understandable why audiences intend to enjoy digital entertainment on their own. First and foremost, it could help them have an enjoyable life. For example, viewers could choose their favourite content without worrying about the opinions of others, which could put their minds at ease and recharge their energy after hard working shifts. Furthermore, being alone might enhance the quality of the watching experience. This is because it could allow the individuals to fully immerse themselves in the content, thus, they might understand more deeply as well as feel more delighted and satisfied. On the other hand, there are a host of compelling reasons as to why I am convinced that audiences should share their leisure time with others. One rationale is that this decision could greatly improve people's relationships. To be more specific, spending time watching TV shows and broadcasts with members of the family means that the members can comprehend each other through the conversations and discussions among them. As a result, they could not only strengthen their ties but also get through the conflicts quickly. Another justification is that parents could protect their children against the negative effects of unsuitable content. In fact, there are various 18+ label movies on TV, and those could be easily accessed if there were no preventions or supervisors from their parents, thereby leading ineligible audiences to imitate bad behaviours such as toxicity, bullying, or racism. In conclusion, while it is irrefutable that the loneliness in television recreation might have some advantages, I would contend that the downsides overshadow the upsides.