In many countries, more and more people choose to buy imported food rather than food produced locally. Why people buy imported food? what could be done to encourage people to buy local food?

Around the world, an increasing number of people are opting to purchase imported groceries instead of locally produced food. This is happening due to a variety of options, however, action could be taken to promote the consumption of local procedures by reducing the price of local products. It is important to acknowledge that having the option to pay money for foodstuff which is imported can positively impact the citizen’s daily life. This is due to imported food may offer a wider variety of options that are not locally available, such as exotic fruits or speciality products. For instance, it is easy to find foreign fruits in supermarkets like cherry, and kiwi whereas different kinds of meal are also common if it has brands from other nations. As a result, this problem creates a new trend and it leads to higher prices in the community. Too much consuming foreign cuisine is a complex issue but can be dealt with by declining the tax incentives. It is evident that supporting nation is the responsibility of each person so if there is a suitable price, it will be sold in a short time. Hence, governments cope with this situation by encouraging citizens with a discount but maintaining the standard of goods. Additionally, this would stimulate the local economy and reduce the environmental costs of transportation known as food miles. To sum up, there are more positive elements to consumers because of a range of groceries. Hence, local cuisine should be supported by citizens by considering the tax.