Some people believe that there should be a fixed punishment for all types of crime. Others feel that the circumstances of an offence should be taken into account when deciding on a punishment. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There are several people convinced that the punishments for each type of crime should be immutable, while many others believe that the situations and motivation should be included in factors of determining the way of punishing the crime. In the meanwhile, whether the punishments for every crime can be changed according to the circumstance and motivation has sparked spirited debates. From my point of view, I concur with the latter view that punishments are not fixed. On the one hand, fixed punishments for different categories of crime may boost the efficiency of judgment. To begin with, the clear and fixed punishments matching certain categories of crime may speed up and simplify the process of judgment. To illustrate, the task that police need to do is just to conclude simply by investigating, categorizing the case, and punishing the criminal according to the fixed rules. Moreover, it seems that this way of judgment is fairer because all criminals in the same category will get the same result no matter who he is. Only by considering more general facts, such as the motivation for committing crimes and the circumstance of the crime can judgments be more objective and accurate. Despite this, simplification and efficiency are not the aim of judgment, but justice. Taking the circumstance of the crime and the motivation of the criminal into account when making judgments has brought many benefits. In the first place, considering more general facts, such as the motivation for committing crimes and the circumstances of the crime, can make the judgments more objective and accurate. In the second place, analyzing more factors and information can reduce the number of persons who are judged as criminals wrongly. In conclusion, considering the situations and motivations of the crime is more beneficial for realizing fairness and justice for the law enforcement agency and contemporary society.