Some people think that advertisements aimed at children should be banned. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Recently consequences of advertisements targeted at children have been a hotly debated topic due to their negative influences. It is a common belief that commercial marketing focusing on children should be forbidden. From my perspective, I firmly support this view because of some disadvantages of advertising for kids. To begin with, the ubiquity of unhealthy advertisements tends to harm children’s lifestyles. The reason is that this age group is highly curious and lacks knowledge. Therefore, children easily believe in pieces of information from advertisements as well as be exploited to make inaccurate decisions. For example, there is more and more obesity in the offspring because one of the most popular current advertisements is fast food, soda, and snacks. Another point worth mentioning is that marketing to children can lead to them pleading with their caretakers who are capable of earning income and spending. Unfortunately, not buying children’s toys may be able to cause resentment in the relationship due the disapproval from caretakers. According to psychological studies, if this situation is repeated enough, it will instill in children a sense of neglect as well as that children who have been ignored perform worse in cognitive tasks than those who not have. In conclusion, commercial marketing focusing on children not only causes a negative impact on children’s lifestyles but also damages children’s relationships with their parents. Consequently, I totally agree with the prohibition of advertisements that target children.