Some students prefer to take a gap year between high school and university, to work or to travel. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

It is widely argued that the number of students taking a gap year before entering university for further education is on the rise. This essay attempts to shed light on both the merits and the demerits of this tendency before concluding that I am in favour of the former notion. On the one hand, taking a year off before going to university could be fraught with pitfalls. One key rationale that is worth mentioning is that gap- year takers may suffer from peer pressure after resuming education. To simplify, after a period of travelling or entering the workforce, they would struggle to become familiar with hectic study schedules at college and acquire specialized knowledge, and this could worsen their academic outcomes as a result. Another justification is that some jobs available to high school students are entry-level, which may not pay well. This negative trend not only gives them access to inadequate career guidance but also puts strain on their financial background and wastes time. This is to say, delaying tertiary education for one year should not be encouraged. On the other hand, there are a host of compelling reasons why I am convinced that the aforementioned drawbacks pale in comparison with the profound benefits of deferring university attendance. First and foremost, this could afford students time to enrich life experiences or hone practical skills. Taking international students as an example, living abroad allows them to get exposed to the new traditional customs and indigenous practices of their alien nations as well as become more mature in their later lives. Moreover, having a year off could help students identify a suitable career path for them. In other words, looking for job opportunities or attending vocational training would empower them to identify their own strengths and weaknesses, therefore leaving space for them to pursue their own interests. This acts as a precursor to enabling them to define a suitable career path, which plays a pivotal role in their future. In conclusion, while it is irrefutable that having a year off could affect students to some extent, I would contend that the upside of this phenomenon is more noteworthy than its downside.