Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now 'one big traffic jam'. How true do you think this statement is ? What measures can goverenments take to discourage people from using their cars?

Nowadays, it is argued that the rapid increase in ownership of cars has led to traffic jams in many cities around the world. This is true in many cities where traffic congestion poses an enormous challenge. This essay will discuss congestion in cities and various measures taken by the government to tackle this crisis. To begin with, cars,or motorised carriages, offer a reliable mode of transportation for people. They are the most common, about 50%, type of transportation in the world. While cars offer a lot of benefits, they are not without their drawbacks. As the population increases so does the need for automobiles. For instance, a study recently conducted by the UK's leading automotive manufacturer, General Motors, contrasts the number of cars owned by individuals in 1990 and 2020, it found that the ownership of cars has risen exponentially. Thus, there is an immediate requirement to find reliable options to replace cars. The state can reduce traffic congestion and pollution by taking measures that will reduce people's use of cars. Firstly, the government can pass laws that would encourage people to use public transportation to bring down traffic or switch to electric vehicles to reduce pollution like increasing the price of fuels. Secondly, the state can bring regulations that will restrict the use of cars. Therefore, governments around the world can take such steps to ensure a better future for both communities and the environment. To summarise, the use of vehicles will continue as long as governments take action against these vehicles. Countries all over the will face the consequences of automobiles soon and they must take immediate action to prevent it.