Some people believe that the personal information of violent criminals should be made available to the public. Others think that this information should be proteced. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some people argue that the private information of violent criminals should be announced to the public while others disagree. However, I think the information has to be made public for common goods On one hand, when we don't publicize the personal details of criminals, it can protect an innocent person from being victimized. Also, if the suspect is a close person to the victim of the case, there is a chance that the victim doesn't want to be revealed which can be accompanied by a publicizing process. For instance, I read a news last year that the parents of the victim of school bullying don't want the suspect to be announced. Therefore, it is clear that protecting the individual details of the criminals can also protect the victims in some cases. On the other hand, when the criminals ' personal information is available to the public, it can help raise public awareness of the crimes. By sharing the details of the criminals and their punishment, people can be aware of the social guidelines and keep themselves safe. In 2010, for instance, Korea started to upload names, ages, and addresses of the sexual criminals on a public website. After the online publication of the criminals ' information was done, it showed a notable decrease in sexual harassment crime rates in 2012. Thus, notifying the criminals ' details to the public seems to be an effective way of controlling the crime rates. While it is obvious that hiding the details can protect an innocent person in some cases, I personally think that the possible effect of preventing further crimes by revealing the information is much more important. In conclusion, I agree with the idea that the criminals ' information has to be made public.