In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of aging populations.

In today’s world, many developed countries are experiencing a substantial increase in life’s duration and that caused a big obstacle for the government. This essay will illustrate major problems and possible solutions to reduce detrimental impact for this issue. First of all, the aging population has put a heavy burden to the authority. The older people get, the more healthcare they need because elderly people usually have serious disease such as heart attack or diabetes, which require more money in healthcare in order to face the demand of aging population. Another problem is there will be an increase in the proportion of retired people claiming retirement benefits, and a big decrease in the percentage of people who are able to work and make benefit to income taxes to the country. For that reason, spending more money on old people and get less money from employee makes the country’s economy being chaos. The government should implement a variety of measures to deal with these problems. The first probable solution is to encourage young workers from other countries, which could help increase the country’s income and productivity. Another measure is that the government can increase the age for retirement, many countries set a standard pension at age 55, they could extend the age into 60 or 65 years since people are still in a healthy and prime condition. Finally, educating people about the importance of spending money efficiently when people get old, by doing this, they will have a certain amount of money to take care of themselves without the need to depend on their children or the government. In conclusion, while financial impact of the aging population is huge, it can easily be resolved by taking certain measures like allowing immigrant workers and extending pension age.